Sites & cities that bear the name of Laayoune


Today in : Western Sahara
First trace of activity : ca. 20th century C.E
Last trace of activity : today
Recorded names : Layoun, El Aaiún, لعيون, Laʕyūn, Elʕyūn, ⵍⵄⵢⵓⵏ, Leɛyun, العيون‎, al-ʿUyūn

Description : Laâyoune (/lɑːˈjuːn/ lah-YOON, also UK: /laɪˈ-/ ly-, French: ) or El Aaiún (/ˌɛl aɪˈ(j)uːn/ EL eye-(Y)OON, Spanish: ; Hassaniya Arabic: لعيون, romanized: Laʕyūn/Elʕyūn; Berber languages: ⵍⵄⵢⵓⵏ, romanized: Leɛyun; Literary Arabic: العيون‎, romanized: al-ʿUyūn, lit. 'The Springs') is the largest city of the disputed territory of Western Sahara, with a population of 217,732 in 2014, and de facto administered by Morocco. The modern city is thought to have been founded by the Spanish captain Antonio de Oro in 1938. In 1940, Spain designated it as the capital of the Spanish Sahara. Laâyoune (El Aaiún) is the capital of the Laâyoune-Sakia El Hamra region administered by Morocco under the supervision of the UN peace-keeping mission in Western Sahara (MINURSO).

See on map »