Sites & cities that bear the name of Mogadishu


Today in : Somalia
First trace of activity : ca. 2nd century B.C.E
Last trace of activity : today
Recorded names : Sarapion?, Serapion?, Σαράπιον?, Magadoxo, Magadazo, 𐒑𐒚𐒎𐒆𐒘𐒉𐒙, Muqdisho, مقديشو‎, Muqadīshū, Mogadiscio, Xamar, Hamar

Description : Mogadishu (/ˌmɒɡəˈdiːʃuː, -ˈdɪʃ-/, also US: /ˌmoʊɡ-, ˌmɔːɡ-/; Somali: Muqdisho 𐒑𐒚𐒎𐒆𐒘𐒉𐒙 ; Arabic: مقديشو‎, romanized: Muqadīshū ; Italian: Mogadiscio ), locally known as Xamar or Hamar, is the capital and most populous city of Somalia. The city has served as an important port connecting with traders all round the Indian Ocean for millennia and has an estimated population of 2,282,000 (2020). Mogadishu is the nearest foreign mainland city to Seychelles, at a distance of 835 mi (1,344 km) over the Indian Ocean. Mogadishu is located in the coastal Banadir region on the Indian Ocean, which unlike other Somali regions, is considered a municipality rather than a maamulgobaleed (federal state). Mogadishu has a long history, which ranges from the ancient period up until the present, serving as the Capital of an influential Sultanate in the 9th century, which for centuries controlled the Indian Ocean gold trade, and eventually came under the Ajuran Empire in the 13th century, which was an important player in the medieval Silk Road maritime trade. Mogadishu enjoyed the height of its prosperity during the 14th and 15th centuries and was during the early modern period considered the richest city on the East African coast, as well as the center of a thriving textile industry. In the 17th century, Mogadishu and parts of southern Somalia fell under the Hiraab Imamate and then came under the direct rule of the Somali Sultanate of the Geledi. The onset of Italian colonialism occurred in incremental stages, with Italian treaties in the 1880s followed by economic engagement between various Somali clans, including the Reer Mataan and the Shaansi (Cadcad) clans like reer Xamar and the Italian Benadir Company and then direct governance by the Italian government after 1906 and the British Military Administration of Somalia after World War Two and the UN Italian Trust Territory in the 1950s. This was followed by independence in 1960, the Hantiwadaag (socialist) era during Barre's presidency (1969-1991), a three-decade civil war afterward, and as of the late 2010s and 2020s a period of reconstruction.

See on map »