Sites & cities that bear the name of Monaco


Today in : Monaco
First trace of activity : ca. 13th century C.E
Last trace of activity : today
Recorded names : Cumüna de Munegu, Commune de Monaco

Description : The Municipality of Monaco (French: Commune de Monaco, Ligurian: Cumüna de Munegu) is the only administrative division of the Principality of Monaco, and is coterminous with the state as a whole. The ancient territory of the Principality was much larger than the present one, including also the towns of Roccabruna and Menton which, however, arose in the framework of the Italian Risorgimento, passed to France in 1860 leaving the capital, i.e. the Monegasque municipality, as the only common of the State. The 1911 constitution divided the old Commune of Monaco into the three municipalities of Monaco City, Monte Carlo and La Condamine, but the prince's government was accused of having operated a form of dividend and imperat against the only democratic institution in the country, having on the other hand, the National Council has extremely limited powers. The controversy brought relatively quickly to the revision of the decision, restoring the single municipality with a law of 1917, operational from the following year. Since then the Monegasque territory is administratively undivided, and the city districts have only statistical purposes. Today, the city hall of Monaco is based in place de la Mairie.

See on map »