Sites & cities that bear the name of Naypyidaw


Today in : Myanmar
First trace of activity : today
Last trace of activity : today
Recorded names : Nay Pyi Taw, နေပြည်တော်, Nepranytau

Description : Naypyidaw, officially spelled Nay Pyi Taw (Burmese: နေပြည်တော်; MLCTS: Nepranytau; pronounced ), is the capital and third-largest city of Myanmar. The city is located at the center of the Naypyidaw Union Territory. It is unusual among Myanmar's cities, as it is an entirely planned city outside of any state or region. Similar planned cities include Canberra in Australia, Brasília in Brazil, Washington, D.C. in the United States, Islamabad in Pakistan, and Abuja in Nigeria. The city, then known only as Pyinmana District, officially replaced Yangon as the administrative capital of Myanmar on 6 November 2005; its official name was revealed to the public on Armed Forces Day, 27 March 2006. As the seat of the government of Myanmar, Naypyidaw is the site of the Union Parliament, the Supreme Court, the Presidential Palace, the official residences of the Cabinet of Myanmar and the headquarters of government ministries and military. Naypyidaw is notable for its unusual combination of large size and very low population density. The city hosted the 24th and 25th ASEAN Summit, the 3rd BIMSTEC Summit, the Ninth East Asia Summit, and the 2013 Southeast Asian Games.

See on map »