Sites & cities that bear the name of Putrajaya


Today in : Malaysia
First trace of activity : 1921 C.E
Last trace of activity : today
Recorded names : Perang Besar, ڤراڠ بسر‎,, Prang Besar, Wilayah Persekutuan Putrajaya, 布城, புத்ராஜெயா

Description : Putrajaya, officially the Federal Territory of Putrajaya (Malay: Wilayah Persekutuan Putrajaya), is a planned city and the federal administrative centre of the Malaysian capital. The seat of the federal government was shifted in 1999 from Kuala Lumpur to Putrajaya because of overcrowding and congestion in the former. Kuala Lumpur remains as Malaysia's national capital per the constitution, and is still the seat of the King of Malaysia and the Parliament, as well as being the country's commercial and financial centre. The establishment of Putrajaya was the idea of the then-Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad. It became Malaysia's third federal territory, after Kuala Lumpur in 1974 and Labuan in 1984. Named after the first Prime Minister of Malaysia, Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra Al-Haj, the territory is entirely enclaved within the Sepang District of the state of Selangor. Putrajaya is also a part of MSC Malaysia, a special economic zone that covers Klang Valley. In Sanskrit, "putra" (पुत्र) means son and "jaya" (जया) means "success" or "victory". The development of Putrajaya started in the early 1990s. Prang Besar (Jawi: ڤراڠ بسر‎, alternately Perang Besar (Malayan for "Great War"), was founded in 1921 on land that was jungle, as a rubber plantation by British veterans of World War 1, hence the name. Its land area of 800 acres (3.2 km2) expanded to 8,000 acres (32 km2), and it was merged with surrounding estates, including Estet Raja Alang, Estet Galloway and Estet Bukit Prang. Until 1975, what is today Putrajaya, along with adjacent Cyberjaya, were under the administration of Hulu Langat (Kajang) district. The vision of a new Federal Government Administrative Centre to replace Kuala Lumpur as the administrative capital emerged in the late 1980s, during the tenure of Malaysia's fourth prime minister, Mahathir bin Mohamad. The new city was proposed to be located between Kuala Lumpur and the new Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA). Two areas were proposed: Prang Besar and Janda Baik of Pahang. The new name Putrajaya was chosen for the site. The federal government negotiated with the state of Selangor on the prospect of another federal territory. In the mid-1990s the federal government paid a substantial amount of money to Selangor for approximately 11,320 acres (45.8 km2) of land in Prang Besar, Selangor. As a result of this land purchase, Selangor now completely surrounds two federal territories within its borders, namely Kuala Lumpur and Putrajaya.

See on map »